UAV Rescue

Project management

AIT

Duration

01.01.2020 - 31.12.2022

Funding

Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft

Contact person

René Kastner

In numerous catastrophes such as gas explosions, terrorist attacks or natural disasters, the collapse of buildings will take place, that creates a dangerous and difficult undertaking when searching for missing persons.

The aim of this project is to develop an experimental UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle) exploration system, which provides the emergency services with a complete 3D map in real time without having to enter the rubble areas.

The project started in January 2020 and should be completed in two years. The DCNA develops test scenarios together with the Fire Brigades, BMI and BMLV, followed by the planning and preparation of operational exercises in a real operational environment. In the evaluation phase of the project, the DCNA and Johanniter carry out a usability feedback or a review of the practicality in order to guarantee a smooth integration of the UAV exploration system into the process chain.

UAV Rescue

Projektleitung

AIT

Laufzeit

01.01.2020 - 31.12.2022

Fördergeber

Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft

Ansprechperson

René Kastner

In zahlreichen Katastrophenfällen wie etwa bei Gasexplosionen, Terroranschlägen oder Naturereignissen kommt es zum (teilweisen) Kollaps von Gebäuden, wodurch die Suche nach Vermissten ein gefährliches und schwieriges Unterfangen wird.

Das Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, ein experimentelles UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle)-Erkundungssystem zu entwickeln, welches den Einsatzkräften in Echtzeit eine vollständige 3D Lagekarte zur Verfügung stellt, ohne dass die Trümmerbereiche betreten werden müssen.

Das Projekt startete im Jänner 2020 und soll in zwei Jahren abgeschlossen werden. Das DCNA entwickelt zusammen mit verschiedenen Berufsfeuerwehren, BMI und BMLV Testszenarien gefolgt von der Planung und Vorbereitung von Einsatzübungen in echter Einsatzumgebung. In der Evaluierungsphase des Projektes führen das DCNA und die Johanniter ein Usability Feedback bzw. eine Überprüfung der Praxistauglichkeit durch, um eine reibungslose Einbindung des UAV-Erkundungssystems in die Prozesskette zu gewährleisten.