Young Scientists

Young Scientists

DCNA’s Young Scientists Program promotes young scientists in the field of disaster prevention and response and offers them access to our network and knowledge. Every three years, doctoral positions are publicly advertised which are funded by the five lead universities of DCNA (Graz University of Technology, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna, University of Innsbruck, Montanuniversität Leoben and University of the Bundeswehr Munich) and for which students can apply. The positions are complementary to the academic strengths of the universities so that students from different disciplines are addressed (natural sciences, technical sciences, social sciences). The following are the DCNA Young Scientists with their areas of expertise:

Aliaksei Patsekha

Aliaksei Patsekha obtained his educational background in Technology, Equipment and Automation of Mechanical Engineering and Prevention and Elimination of Emergencies at the universities of Belarus. In 2017 completed a doctoral degree (degree of a Candidate of Technical Sciences) in Fire and Industrial Safety at the University of Civil Protection of the Ministry for Emergency Situations of the Republic of Belarus. Since June 2020 Aliaksei Patsekha works as a research associate at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering. His research interests lie in the field of Fire Dynamics and Tunnel Fire Safety.

Jana Çelikler

Jana Çelikler studied psychology with a focus on business psychology at the University of Bremen and Helsingin Yliopisto. She has been a research assistant and doctoral candidate at the Professorship for Knowledge Management and Business Process Design at the University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich since 2018. Since 2019, she has also been a junior member of the RISK research center (risk, infrastructure, security, conflict). Her main research interests include the investigation of communication structures and processes in the staff work of civil protection and disaster control organizations as well as the evaluation of crisis management exercises.

In her dissertation, Jana Çelikler deals with the creation, maintenance and design of communication structures and processes in the staff work of civil protection and disaster control organizations in complex operational situations. As part of a qualitative exploratory study, she evaluates situation discussions by staff that she has documented in the context of participating exercise observations.

Erik Kuschel

Erik Kuschel is a PhD-Student at the Department of Civil Engineering and Natural Hazards (BOKU, Vienna) and a member of the young scientist’s platform within DCNA. His research focuses on the application of state-of-the-art remote sensing techniques for the monitoring and analysis of landslides in high alpine and arctic environments in the light of climate change. He studied Mountain Risk Engineering and Management at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (Vienna, Austria) and further specialised in geohazards, permafrost and geotechnics as Guest Master Student at the University Centre in Svalbard (Longyearbyen, Norway). Within his master thesis he investigated the influence of meteorological factors on debris slides in the vicinity of the Austre Lovénbreen glacier (Ny-Ålesund, Svalbard) based on multi-temporal laser scanning. Erik Kuschel is the Disaster Risk Reduction Science Policy Focal Point for the Sendai Children and Youth Stakeholder Group within the framework of the United Nations since 2021.

Abstract Erik Kuschel

Florentin Weiss

Florentin Weiss completed his chemistry studies at the Leopold-Franzens University Innsbruck and wrote his master's thesis at the Institute for Breath Research (method optimization of a gas chromatography mass spectrometer). He then began his doctorate at the same institute and since then has been researching ion chemistry in so-called high-energy ion mobility spectrometers, or HiKE-IMS for short, as part of a stay abroad at the University of Hanover. Since IMS systems have many applications in the field of gas analysis (e.g. breathing air), working with DCNA is particularly exciting.

Abstract Florentin Weiss (German)

Matthias Eder

Matthias Eder completed his bachelor's and master's degree at TU Graz in the field of software engineering. He also works in software development for robotics at IncubedIT in Graz. Since 2019, his doctorate has been working on a concept for the development of methods for measuring trust in assistance systems and the cognitive load caused by their use.

Abstract Matthias Eder (German)

Tobias Schuhmann

Tobias Schuhmann studied industrial engineering with a focus on stochastic modeling and information engineering at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Since 2018, he has been a research assistant and doctoral candidate at the Professorship for Knowledge Management and Business Process Design at the University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich. Since 2021, he has also been a junior member of the RISK research center (risk, infrastructure, security, conflict). His research interests include the (data) analysis of social networks and processes of digital transformation in civil protection and disaster control organizations as well as the evaluation of crisis management exercises.

In his dissertation, Tobias Schuhmann deals with the identification, visualization, and data-based evaluation of network structures in civil protection and disaster control organizations in different situations. As part of a project-accompanying qualitative and quantitative investigation, he evaluates the interaction and communication relationships of members of civil protection and disaster protection organizations using network analysis.

Alexander Kreh

Alexander Kreh is Senior Lecturer and researcher in the working group for emergency psychology and psychotraumatology at the Institute for Psychology at the University of Innsbruck. Since 2020 he is doing research on the psychosocial impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on different population groups. Within the scope of his dissertation he is focusing specifically on health care workers and emergency staff. As a Psychologist, he is also in training to become a clinical psychologist in Austria and is volunteering for the Austrian Red Cross in the fields of crisis intervention, volunteer and staff support and a psychosocial hotline.

Vinzent Klaus

Vinzent Klaus studied meteorology at the University of Vienna and worked in weather forecasting after completing his studies. As part of his doctoral thesis at the Institute for Meteorology and Climatology at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, he deals with convective precipitation events and their recording using high-resolution weather radars.

Abstract Vincent Klaus (German)

Amir Dastgheib

Amir Dastgheib is working at the Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management and studying at the Doctoral School of Civil Engineering Sciences at TU Graz as a PhD student. He earned his bachelor’s degree in Water Engineering at Islamic Azad University, Iran and monitored the construction of an Ogee spillway scale model in the hydraulics laboratory during his undergraduate level. Afterwards, he obtained a master’s degree in Hydraulic Structures. His master thesis deals with hydraulics of submerged jets using Artificial Neural Networks and Adaptive Network-based Fuzzy Inference System. Since then, he has become even more interested in the interconnection of hydraulics and environmental issues. He was studying his second master in Hydraulic Engineering at TU Delft before joining TU Graz. His main research interests are in the area of river engineering and sediment transport processes, flood risk management, and CFD methods and Machine Learning- Based Modeling in Hydraulic Engineering.
He has published several papers, specifically in the field of Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) and Artificial Intelligence (AI) modeling and their application on hydraulics and water engineering. Additionally, during his academic and professional career he was involved in a number of projects and feasibility studies in the areas of hydrological assessments, hydraulic modeling, erosion and sedimentation, riverine sand and gravel mining, and bank protection and stabilization.

Young Scientists

Young Scientists

Das Young Scientists-Programm des DCNA fördert den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs im Bereich Katastrophenprävention und -bewältigung und bietet jungen Forscher:innen Zugang zu unserem Netzwerk und Wissen. Konkret werden alle drei Jahre Dissertanten-Stellen öffentlich ausgeschrieben, die von den fünf Lead-Universitäten des DCNA (Technische Universität Graz, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, Universität Innsbruck, Montanuniversität Leoben und Universität der Bundeswehr München) gefördert werden, und für die man sich bewerben kann. Die Stellen sind komplementär nach den wissenschaftlichen Stärken der Universitäten ausgerichtet, sodass Studierende aus verschiedenen Fachrichtungen angesprochen werden (Naturwissenschaften, technische Wissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften). Nachfolgend die DCNA Young Scientists mit ihren Spezialgebieten:

Sie haben Interesse am DCNA Young Scientists-Programm?

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Nachfolgend die aktuellen DCNA Young Scientists mit ihren Spezialgebieten:

Aliaksei Patsekha

Aliaksei Patsekha machte seine Ausbildung in den Fachbereichen Technologie, Ausrüstung und Automatisierung des Maschinenbaus, sowie im Bereich der Prävention und Beseitigung von Notfällen an den Universitäten von Belarus. Im Jahr 2017 promovierte er (als Kandidat der Ingenieurwissenschaften) zum Thema Brand- und Industriesicherheit an der Universität für Zivilschutz des Ministeriums für Notsituationen der Republik Belarus. Seit Juni 2020 arbeitet Aliaksei Patsekha als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich Branddynamik und Tunnelbrandschutz.

Jana Çelikler

Jana Çelikler studierte Psychologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Wirtschaftspsychologie an der Universität Bremen sowie der Helsingin Yliopisto. Sie ist seit 2018 Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin an der Professur für Wissensmanagement und Geschäftsprozessgestaltung an der Universität der Bundeswehr München. Seit 2019 ist sie dort zudem Juniormitglied im Forschungszentrum RISK (Risiko, Infrastruktur, Sicherheit, Konflikt). Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen die Untersuchung der Kommunikationsstrukturen und -prozesse in der Stabsarbeit von Organisationen des Zivil- und Katastrophenschutzes sowie die Evaluation von Krisenmanagementübungen.

In ihrer Dissertation beschäftigt sich Jana Çelikler mit der Schaffung, Erhaltung und Gestaltung der Kommunikationsstrukturen und -prozesse in der Stabsarbeit von Organisationen des Zivil- und Katastrophenschutzes in komplexen Einsatzlagen. Im Rahmen einer qualitativ-explorativen Untersuchung wertet sie dazu Lagebesprechungen von Stäben, die sie im Kontext von teilnehmenden Übungsbeobachtungen dokumentiert hat, konversationsanalytisch aus.

Erik Kuschel

Erik Kuschel ist Universitätsassistent am Department für Bautechnik und Naturgefahren (BOKU, Wien) und ist Mitglied der Young Scientist Plattform des DCNA. Er forscht seit 2020 im Rahmen seiner Dissertation an der Anwendung von multi-temporalen terrestrischen Fernerkundungsmethoden für das Monitoring und die Prozessanalyse von Massenbewegungen im alpinen und arktischen Raum. Er hat Alpine Naturgefahren/Wildbach- und Lawinenverbauung an der Universität für Bodenkultur (Wien, Österreich) studiert und spezialisierte sich weiter in den Bereichen Naturgefahren, Permafrost und Geotechnik während seiner Zeit als Guest Master Student am University Center in Svalbard (Longyearbyen, Norwegen). Im Zuge seiner Masterarbeit untersuchte er den Einfluss von meteorologischen Faktoren auf Massenbewegungen im Nahbereich des Austre Lovénbreen Gletschers (Ny-Ålesund, Svalbard) mittels multi-temporalen Laserscanning. Seit 2021 ist Erik Kuschel ehrenamtlich als Disaster Risk Reduction Science Policy Focal Point for the Sendai Children and Youth Stakeholder Group im Rahmen der Vereinten Nationen tätig.

Abstract Erik Kuschel

Florentin Weiss

Florentin Weiss absolvierte sein Chemie Studium an der Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck und verfasste die Masterarbeit am Institut für Atemgasanalytik (Methodenoptimierung eines Gaschromatographie-Massenspektrometers). Am selben Institut begann er anschließend seine Promotion und beschäftigt sich seither, im Zuge eines Auslandsaufenthalts an der Universität Hannover, mit der Erforschung der Ionenchemie in sogenannten Hochenergie Ionenmobilitätsspektrometern, kurz HiKE-IMS. Da IMS Systeme viele Anwendungen im Bereich der Gasanalytik (z.B. Atemluft) haben, ist eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem DCNA besonders spannend!

Abstract Florentin Weiss

Matthias Eder

Matthias Eder absolvierte sein Bachelor- und Masterstudium an der TU Graz im Bereich Software Engineering. Er arbeitet zudem im Bereich Softwareentwicklung für die Robotik bei der IncubedIT in Graz. Seit befasst sich seit 2019 in seinem Doktorat mit einem Konzept zur Entwicklung von Methoden zur Messung des Vertrauens in Assistenzsysteme und der kognitiven Belastung durch deren Nutzung.

Abstract Matthias Eder

Tobias Schuhmann

Tobias Schuhmann studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit den Schwerpunkten stochastische Modellierung und Information Engineering am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Er ist seit 2018 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand an der Professur für Wissensmanagement und Geschäftsprozessgestaltung an der Universität der Bundeswehr München. Seit 2021 ist er dort zudem Juniormitglied im Forschungszentrum RISK (Risiko, Infrastruktur, Sicherheit, Konflikt). Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen die (Daten-)Analyse von sozialen Netzwerken und Prozessen der digitalen Transformation in Organisationen des Zivil- und Katastrophenschutzes sowie die Evaluation von Krisenmanagementübungen.

In seiner Dissertation beschäftigt sich Tobias Schuhmann mit der Identifikation, Visualisierung und datenbasierten Auswertung von Netzwerkstrukturen in Organisationen des Zivil- und Katastrophenschutzes in unterschiedlichen Einsatz- und Sachlagen. Im Rahmen einer projektbegleitenden, qualitativen wie quantitativen Untersuchung wertet er dazu Interaktions- und Kommunikationsbeziehungen von Angehörigen von Organisationen des Zivil- und Katastrophenschutzes netzwerkanalytisch aus.

Alexander Kreh

Alexander Kreh ist Senior Lecturer und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der AG Notfallpsychologie & Psychotraumatologie am Institut für Psychologie der Universität Innsbruck. Seit 2020 forscht er an den psychosozialen Auswirkungen der Covid-19-Pandemie auf verschiedene Bevölkerungsgruppen, im Rahmen seiner Dissertation mit speziellem Fokus auf Einsatzkräfte und Gesundheitspersonal. Er ist Psychologe, und neben der wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit auch praktisch in Ausbildung zum klinischen Psychologen, sowie ehrenamtlich im Roten Kreuz in den Bereichen Krisenintervention, SvE und Kummernummer tätig.

Vinzent Klaus

Vinzent Klaus studierte Meteorologie an der Universität Wien war nach Studienabschluss in der Wettervorhersage tätig. Im Rahmen seiner Doktoratsarbeit am Institut für Meteorologie und Klimatologie der Universität für Bodenkultur beschäftigt er sich mit konvektiven Niederschlagsereignissen und deren Erfassung durch hochauflösende Wetterradare.

Abstract Vincent Klaus

Amir Dastgheib

Amir Dastgheib arbeitet am Institut für Wasserbau und Wasserwirtschaft und studiert als Doktorand an der Doctoral School für Bauingenieurwissenschaften der TU Graz. Er erwarb seinen Bachelor-Abschluss in Wassertechnik an der Islamischen Azad-Universität im Iran und überwachte während seines Bachelorstudiums den Bau eines maßstabsgetreuen Ogee-Überlaufmodells im Hydrauliklabor. Anschließend erlangte er einen Masterabschluss in Wasserbau. Seine Masterarbeit befasst sich mit der Hydraulik untergetauchter Jets unter Verwendung künstlicher neuronaler Netze und eines auf adaptiven Netzwerken basierenden Fuzzy-Inferenzsystems. Seitdem interessiert er sich noch stärker für den Zusammenhang von Hydraulik und Umweltthemen. Seinen zweiten Master in Wasserbau absolvierte er an der TU Delft, bevor er an die TU Graz wechselte. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Flussbau und Sedimenttransportprozesse, Hochwasserrisikomanagement sowie CFD-Methoden und auf maschinellem Lernen basierende Modellierung im Wasserbau.
Er hat mehrere Artikel veröffentlicht, insbesondere auf dem Gebiet der Modellierung von Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) und künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) und deren Anwendung in der Hydraulik und Wassertechnik. Darüber hinaus war er im Laufe seiner akademischen und beruflichen Laufbahn an einer Reihe von Projekten und Machbarkeitsstudien in den Bereichen hydrologische Bewertungen, hydraulische Modellierung, Erosion und Sedimentation, Flusssand- und Kiesabbau sowie Uferschutz und -stabilisierung beteiligt.